What happens if police arrest me for a DUI and I am under 21?

Posted by Chris Morales on Mon, Mar 25, 2013 @ 02:22 PM

Getting a DUI under the age of 21 can be very problematic. For one thing it is illegal to consume alcohol under the age of 21. The effects on your record can be longer lasting and result in greater problems.

For most to reach a blood alcohol content level of 0.01 means drinking: one 12-ounce beer, one 4 ounce glass of wine or one 1.25 ounce of liquor.

If police find a blood alcohol content of o.o1 or higher in California when you are under the age of 21 you will lose your license and be given a pink slip. The pink slip suspends your driver license. You will then have 10 days to get a hearing where you have the opportunity to fight the infraction.

If police find a blood alcohol content of .05 or higher in California they will require the individual to attend a rehabilitation program for young offenders. They will then be charged with a DUI. Their license will be removed and be “pending” until the hearing.

It is important to know that in California anyone under 21 years of age with a blood alcohol content of 0.01 or greater will be charged with a DUI under the Zero Tolerance Law.

DUI as an underage drinker is a severe charge. The penalty is typically a fine of $100-500, 20 hours of community hours, depending on the circumstances no jail time, substance abuse education and suspension of license which can vary from 30 days to 6 months. Depending on the judge they have the right to impound or sell the vehicle at the owner’s expense.

Punishment and Sentencing for California Vehicle Code 23140 VC

First conviction carries a $1000 Penalty

Second conviction within a one-year period carries a $200 Penalty

Third conviction within one year carries a $300 Penalty

Those applying to college and have been convicted of an underage DUI must list it on their college applications.  This also makes it difficult for young adults to start their career when they have been convicted of a misdemeanor. If there is a misunderstanding it is important to seek out help from a lawyer as soon as possible. 

                                      underage dui costs 300x195

Tags: California, Driving School, DUI, penalty, Under Age DUI, Drunk Driving, Zero Tolerance Law, DUI lawyer, DUI arrests, DUI drunk driving, drunken driving